303 S. 51st Street – Update & Call to Action (week of 10/07/19)

Dear Neighbors & Community,

We hope your week has been off to a great start! We have a couple of action items for you following ongoing meetings. Please see the information below and let us know if you have any questions.

UPDATE:

We met with Councilwoman Jannie Blackwell, and she has introduced a bill that will remap the area bounded by Cedar Avenue, 52nd Street, Locust Street, and 46th Street. The proposed down-zoning in our area will require developers to seek input from the community if they wish to build up. This bill will come before the Committee on Rules during a Public Hearing on October 16.

 – Please contact members of the Committee on Rules to let them know we support this change.

William K. Greenlee, (215) 686-3446, (215) 686-3447, Bill.Greenlee@phila.gov

Mark Squilla, (215) 686-3458, (215) 686-3459, Mark.Squilla@phila.gov

Cindy Bass, (215) 686-3424, (215) 686-3425, Cindy.Bass@phila.gov

Blondell Reynolds Brown, (215) 686-3438, (215) 686-3439, blondell.reynolds.brown@phila.gov 

Kenyatta Johnson, (215) 686-3412, (215) 686-3413, Kenyatta.Johnson@phila.gov

Bobby Henon (215) 686-3444, (215) 686-344, bobby@bobbyhenon.com

Maria D. Quiñones Sanchez, (215) 686-3448, (215) 686-3449, Maria.Q.Sanchez@phila.gov

Curtis Jones, Jr., (215) 686-3416, (215) 686-3417, Curtis.Jones@phila.gov

Al Taubenberger, (215) 686-3440, (215) 686-3441, Al.Taubenberger@phila.gov

Sample Script:

Dear Councilman/Councilwoman ­_______________,

I am writing in support of proposed Bill 190638. I live at ____________. Our neighborhood will be impacted by a dangerous and detrimental development on a flag lot at 303 S. 51st Street. This development is only possible because of seriously outdated and erroneous zoning. In keeping with the City Planning Commission’s Philadelphia 2035 plan, I ask you to support Councilwoman Blackwell’s current effort to bring West Philly Zoning into the 21st century with Bill 190638. Thank you for your attention.

Sincerely,

_______________

***If you can, please attend the Public Hearing for the remapping bill (and many others) that will be held at 10 a.m. in Room 400 of City Hall, 1400 John F. Kennedy Blvd. If you are willing and able to address the Committee in support of remapping, please let us know (WestPhillyNHCD@gmail.com) and we will get your name added to the Committee’s speaker list. Visitors must check in at the Northeast entrance where Commerce, Filbert, and Juniper Streets feed into JFK Blvd. Arrive a little early and bring your ID. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: